Meet the Team: Laura Batchelor

By October 25, 2018 July 18th, 2019 Stories

Welcome to our ‘Meet the Team’ feature, where we give you a chance to meet the people behind the business! Up first, we have Laura Batchelor…

Name: Laura Batchelor

Job Title: Account Manager

What’s your origin story?

After graduating from the University of Hertfordshire with a marketing degree, I worked at an advertising agency in London that specialised in travel clients. It was a fab agency to work for and I gained experience in both creative briefs and media buying. After two years there, I moved back to my original hometown of Leeds and worked for Drama Media, part of JDA, where I worked in Media Planning and Buying for 3 years. I wanted a more creative career path, so moved to Creative Race (formally known as Gratterpalm), where I spent a total of 8 years, working on the Asda account. After having two children and becoming tired of the commute from Huddersfield to Leeds on the dreaded M62, I started working at KC communications in May 2017.

How long have you been with KC Communications?

18 months.

What attracted you to this role?

First and foremost, the location, as it is 5 minutes from home and my boys’ nursery is in between home and work. I was interested in the opportunity for flexible working, as a mother of two children and Katrina offered me a 4-day week. Not many other agency roles offered this flexibility, so I jumped at the chance. I also liked the idea of a smaller boutique agency, where I could work with a variety of clients and industries.

If you could change one thing about KC Communications, what would it be?

Thinks, stares off into distance and then says confidently…the walk up the stairs!

What important milestones do you have coming up in your life?

My eldest son has just started reception this September, which has been an exciting but daunting time for me. I also just celebrated my 5th wedding anniversary, and my husband turns 40 this December, so we are heading to Iceland for a long weekend without the kids to celebrate! I have another 5 years, so have time to plan where we will visit for my 40th!

If you were handed £1.5 million today, what would you do with it?

I think I’d pay off the mortgage, and I would go on some adult only holidays and just enjoy a bit of rest and relaxation! I’d take the kids to Disneyland Paris… not Disney in America, as the flight is too long for two kids, and we have learnt that lesson before! I’d probably be boring and invest the rest to try and secure a good future.

What is the strangest talent that you have?  

Curling my tongue.

What do you love about your job?

The variety, no two days are ever the same! I love that I have the opportunity to put my own stamp on things and come up with ideas, be proactive with clients, not really having any set guidelines.

What TV show/movie/song closely represents your life at the moment?

Bad moms

Do you currently have, or did you have any nicknames?

Nothing that has really stuck, but I call my two boys every name under the sun. I don’t think I ever actually call them Joshua and Jackson!

What is your go to drink when at a pub/bar?

I’ve recently discovered Gin and elder flower tonic. I’m still a weekend only drinker, and can’t handle it, but I’m trying!

What personal accomplishment are you secretly really proud of?

Passing my driving test first time. I honestly thought I would never be able to control a car. I had minimal practise, but somehow managed to fluke it on the day! I’m also proud of raising my two children (along with the hubby, of course). So far they are still alive and thriving.

What is your proudest moment at KC?

Getting my client Poppleton and Appleby, into the Mail Online with a comment.

If you could have any company as a client, who would it be?

Naylors Equestrian – I love horses and have two of my own. It would be fab to join up two passions of mine. Horses and Marketing.

If you could close your eyes and transport yourself anywhere, where would you go?

I’d go back in time, to when I was Nine years old, living in New Jersey, where I spent the majority of my time at the stables looking after and riding horses.