Twitter may have only just started trialling its new look to a small number of accounts, but here we take a look at the main changes and what it means for companies who use Twitter every day as part of their marketing strategy.
The most noticeable difference is the layout – and you may agree with some that it looks much neater, whilst others have noted that it looks just like the mobile version, with new features including ‘desktop night mode’. There are now only two columns on the page, which condenses the ‘trends’ and ‘who to follow’ sections in to one. This has also eliminated the personal profile section which previously displayed your icon and information about your followers.
The new design may be in line with Twitter’s aim to make the layout simpler, but some users have already voiced their dismay:
- @RikkunBrouwers: The new profile page is extremely impersonal. Please at least make the header stretch across the full-page width again.
- @skyleter: It’s okay, but I truly hate getting redirected to another page when clicking a tweet or direct messages icon… Looks more like an old twitter than a new one. Any way to get back to the old design?
You’ll now be able to save a tweet for later reference without having to ‘like’ it, by adding it to your bookmarks. However, the location button has been removed, meaning you can no longer tag your current location to a new tweet.
Searching is about to become more progressive too. Once you’ve entered your search term, you’ll now have the option to select filters and utilise the advanced search tab to pinpoint the content you’d like to find. This will allow users to make extensive searches, which is bound to be a useful tool for all.
Users might also be happy to learn that you can now crop an image within the compose box before you tweet it.
However, in reviewing the makeover, we’ve noticed a few things missing that we can’t help but think we’ll miss if they’re really gone forever, including:
- The total number of tweets sent from an account – we had found this to be an excellent tool for highlighting how active a user has been on their account
- Notification view – viewing notifications will no longer appear as a pop-up window but will take you to a new page on your browser
- Colour settings – you can no longer set the colour of your account (e.g. links and hashtags) which some companies have utilised to reflect their branding
For now, the changes are only available to a small number of users who can swap between the new and old version, and we’re also told that there are a few more features to be introduced.
There’s no official date announced for when it will be fully rolled out, but don’t worry, if you haven’t had the chance to see it yet you won’t have to wait much longer.